Midview Schools News Article

Class of 2019 Earns Athletics Awards at Senior Recognition Ceremony

OHSAA Scholar Athlete Award

This award exemplifies the OHSAA Commitment to academic excellence while participating in interscholastic athletics. The award is given to the senior male and female who attained the highest scholastic average at the end of their fall semester. Recipients must also have earned multiple varsity letters over their careers.

Winners: Sara Liszeski and Bryan Weaver

OHSAA Courageous Student Award

This award recognizes a student who has been involved in, or supportive of, the interscholastic athletic program and who deserves recognition for the courage they have exhibited while overcoming a serious injury, illness or disability.

She has endured a series of setbacks during her three years at Midview. Whether it was a serious knee injury, getting hit in the face with a teammate’s bat or even a ball this year right to the facemask, this strong-willed individual has fought back each time to play the sport she loves so much.

Winner: Ella Leonard

Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award

As part of an ongoing program to promote Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity, the OHSAA recognizes students who display exemplary sportsmanship. Mr. Griffin is an Ohio native and the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner. During his time as a professional athlete and the current CEO of The Ohio State University Alumni Association he always displayed the characteristics of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity. 

Winners: Sara Liszeski and Seth Sanders

NFHS National Award for Excellence

This award is to be presented to a male and female student who has exhibited qualities that embody good citizenship, good moral character and good sporting behavior. These two individuals are positive role models for others and encourage others to be role models as well.

Winners: Kaeli Evins and Isiah Johnson.

OHSAA State Award for Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity

This award recognizes a student or person in the community who continually exemplifies good sportsmanship. Someone who is a positive role model for others, who supports and demonstrates positive values and who has contributed to the wellbeing of the school community.

The impact that this man has had on Midview Athletics is immeasurable and we can’t thank him and his extended family enough for everything they’ve done for Middie Nation. His duties over the last three decades have varied. In addition to being one of the most respected teachers in the building, he was a long-time coach of one program (Boys Basketball) and helped start a new one (Girls Golf) just this year. His efforts with the annual DiFranco Tournament and Scholarship are showcase his comittment to Midview student-athletes. He has also assisted the Athletics Department the last few years in game management.

Winner: Troy DiFranco

LCAAA Honor and Merit Roll

The Lorain County Athletic Administrators Association annually recognizes the county’s finest senior student-athletes by compiling a Merit and Honor Roll. Eligible student-athlete must have earned two varsity letters during their senior year and a career total of at least 4 varsity letters to make the merit roll or 6 varsity letters to make the honor roll.

While we did not have any merit roll winners this year, we do have 13 student-athletes that earned Honor Roll.

Winners:  Pablo Cruz, Kaeli Evins, Gretchen Hack, Isiah Johnson, Kailyn Joviak, Andrew Lewis, Sara Liszeski, Gabe Maxwell, Hayden Meek, Tessa Pickering, Edwin Ralat, Seth Sanders and Bryan Weaver.

In addition, two of our student-athletes have earned Midview’s LCAAA Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Winners: Tessa Pickering and Hayden Meek.

Print This Article
View text-based website