Midview Schools News Article

Midview Athletic Awards announced at Senior Awards Assembly

Midview Athletics

Midview Athletics Director Dan May announced the department's annual awards during Thursday (May 27) morning's Senior Awards Assembly inside Kubuski Gymnasium.

OHSAA Scholar Athlete Award
This award exemplifies the OHSAA Commitment to academic excellence while participating in interscholastic athletics. The award is given to the senior male and female who attained the highest scholastic average at the end of their fall semester. Recipients must also have earned multiple varsity letters over their careers.
Winners: Jillian Filipiak and Mark Allman
OHSAA Courageous Student Award
This award recognizes a student who has been involved in, or supportive of, the interscholastic athletic program and who deserves recognition for the courage they have exhibited while overcoming a serious injury, illness or disability. Overcoming a serious knee injury is difficult. Having to do it back-to-back years is almost too much to overcome. However, this individual put in the work, determined to help her teammates in all three sports achieve their team goals. I know there were a lot of tough days, but what her and her teammates were able to accomplish had to make them worth it. Under her leadership, the Middies won their first ever SWC Girls Soccer Championship, they made it all of the way to the District Semifinals in Girls Basketball and in track and field they set a new 4x100m Relay record and qualified for Regional Finals, which will take place tomorrow.
Winner: Jordan Reddinger

Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award
As part of an ongoing program to promote Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity, the OHSAA recognizes students who display exemplary sportsmanship. Mr. Griffin is an Ohio native and the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner. During his time as a professional athlete and CEO of The Ohio State University Alumni Association he always displayed the characteristics of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity.
Winners: Sophie Ferritto and Jacob Winslow

NFHS National Award for Excellence
This award is to be presented to a male and female student who has exhibited qualities that embody good citizenship, good moral character and good sporting behavior. These two individuals are positive role models for others and encourage others to be role models as well.
Winners: Izzy Patarini and Bryce Sanders

LCAAA Honor and Merit Roll
The Lorain County Athletic Administrators Association annually recognizes the county’s finest senior student-athletes by compiling a Merit and Honor Roll. Eligible student-athlete must have demonstrated good citizenship while also earning two varsity letters during their senior year and a career total of at least 4 varsity letters to make the merit roll or 6 varsity letters to make the honor roll. 

We have 8 merit roll winners this year. They are Colton Bell, Olivia Birth, Preston Botos, Ben Croftcheck, Sophia Ferritto, Daniel Heuler, Maddie Huge and Jacob Schmitz.

We also have 15 student-athletes that earned Honor Roll. They are Faith Allen, Emma Barnes, Ashley Blascak, Jillian Filipiak, Isabel Mraz, Isabella Patarini, Jordan Reddinger, Bryce Sanders, Allison Seymour, Avery Snyder, Stephanie Sturgeon, Autumn Vance, Jaclyn Wendling, Madisyn Wendling and Jacob Winslow.

In addition, two of our honor roll student-athletes have earned Midview’s LCAAA Scholar Athletes of the Year.
Winners: Ashley Blascak and Bryce Sanders

Print This Article
View text-based website